The Starting Line

Getting started is always a challenge for me. I spend a great deal of time getting all my ducks in a row to begin a new project that by the time I actually feel ready to start it my enthusiasm is already starting to wane. Fortunately, health and wellness aren’t exactly projects you can prepare for. You start where you are.

This is where I am: I’m a 40-something female with chronic asthma. My BMI is 21, so my weight and height are proportional but I still think I have fat thighs/hips and my arms need some serious toning. I don’t think I exercise much nor am I particularly healthy. My diet isn’t horrible (both my cholesterol and blood pressure are on the lower sides of normal) but it’s not uber-healthy either (I struggle to eat enough fruits, veggies and dairy).

In other words, I’m pretty average for women my age and I’m ok with that.

So why start a blog about wellness and technology?

The easy answer is I work for a wellness company. Not only am I encountering some really cool tech and information in the course of my job but the people I work with are among the thinnest and healthiest folks I’ve ever seen.  Wellness Wizardry gives me a place to record, share and discuss the gadgets, tools and strategies I encounter from my personal POV.

A more complete answer would be that I’ve always had an interest in health and technology. And. let’s face it, I need to take some action if I want to remain average let alone become healthier or more fit (you’ll notice I didn’t say lose weight because that really isn’t one of my goals though of course, I won’t be terribly upset if it happens). There’s also the fact that the “traditional” advice doesn’t always work for me. I naturally have a small appetite, drink a lot of coffee but not much water and my asthma means many forms of strenuous exercise are out. You won’t catch me running or in a zumba class though swimming, yoga and weight training are probably fair game.  This blog will give me an opportunity to chronicle my progress for myself as well as for others who struggle with similar issues.

The Mission of Wellness Wizardry isn’t to promote any gadget, program or philosophy. It is simply to explore how those things fit into the life of an average woman whose goal is to remain healthy, active and attractive as long as possible.

Let’s get started!

Leave a comment